Indian Journal of Pathology and Microbiology
Home About us Instructions Submission Subscribe Advertise Contact e-Alerts Login 
Users Online: 27
Print this page  Email this page Bookmark this page Small font sizeDefault font sizeIncrease font size

  About Us

  Indian Journal of Pathology and Microbiology (ISSN-0377-4929)

The Indian Journal of Pathology and Microbiology is the official Quarterly publication of the Indian Association of Pathologists and Microbiologists. It had completed 50 glorious years in the year 2007. Late Dr Vanmali Saran Maglik of King George Medical College, Lucknow is the founder editor who started the journal in the year 1958. Initially the journal was called Indian Journal of Pathology and Bacteriology and the present name is in existence from the year 1965. The journal grew over the years under the able guidance of stalwarts like Late Dr HI Jhala, Late Dr V Ramalingaswamy, Dr HD Tandon, Late Dr BK Aikat and Late Dr S Nagalotimath. The present form is due to the untiring efforts of Dr KS Ratnakar, Dr VH Talib, Dr SK Shahi and Dr Harsh Mohan. The journal is widely read and is in almost all the libraries of the country and in many institutions outside the country. From the year 2008, the article submission, review, correspondence and publication process has been made online ( Now the journal has its own website ( With these changes the visibility and popularity of the journal has tremendously increased. Dr S Satyanarayana is the present editor of the journal.

Abstracting and Indexing information

The journal is indexed with Abstracts on Hygiene and Communicable Diseases , CAB Abstracts, Caspur, CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure), DOAJ, EBSCO Publishing's Electronic Databases, Excerpta Medica / EMBASE, Expanded Academic ASAP, Genamics JournalSeek, Global Health, Google Scholar, Health & Wellness Research Center, Health Reference Center Academic, Hinari, Index Copernicus, Indian Science Abstracts, IndMed, Journal Citation Reports, MEDLINE/Index Medicus, National Science Library, OpenJGate, PrimoCentral, ProQuest, PubMed, Pubmed Central, Science Citation Index Expanded, Scimago Journal Ranking, SCOLOAR, SCOPUS, SIIC databases, Summon by Serial Solutions, Tropical Diseases Bulletin, Ulrich's International Periodical Directory and Web of Science

Impact Factorģ for 2010 is 0.57

  From The Editorís Desk

As the new Editor-in-Chief, I would like to welcome you all into the New Year, 2013. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the people who have put their trust in me and have considered me worthy of handling this position. Over the years, our journal has risen to great heights and has come to be widely known across the globe and it is a great honor to be at this position.

The journal has achieved an Impact factor 0.676 for 2012 due to the hard work and untiring efforts of Dr. S. Satyanarayana and his editorial team. To increase further the journal's reputation, it is important that more and more of original articles are submitted and case reports and letter to the editors are reduced in number and therefore, I request you to participate actively as you have until now and submit your quality research work to IJPM. Any suggestions for improving the journal's quality are most welcome.

There has been some delay in processing of the submitted manuscripts and bringing out the January to March issue due to shifting of office and some unavoidable circumstances. I'm trying hard to clear the backlog at the earliest, but finding it difficult due to repeated technical errors by the authors that can be easily avoided if the authors strictly adhere to the instructions for manuscript preparations given on the journal website.

Plagiarism is an important issue now in publishing the articles. All the senior authors are requested to check the articles of juniors properly and make them aware of it so that no content from any reference is repeated verbatim in the article. A link for checking the plagiarism is given on the journal website.

I would also request you all to take care of ethical clearance and patient's consent while submitting articles for publication.

With best wishes,

Vatsala Misra


Vatsala Misra
Prof and Head
Dept of Pathology
MLN Medical College
Allahabad - 211001


Associate Editors

S. Datta Gupta 

K. Gayathri

Sumeet Gujral

 D.K. Mishra

 Nirag Jhala (President AIPNA)

 Bakul Dalal

 AT Kalghatgi

 Asitava Mondal


Assistant Editor


             V.K. Gupta  


C. Sundaram

Asitava Mondal

DK Mishra 

Joint secretary
Pradeep Vaideeswar 

Jayasree Rath

Joint Secretary Headquarters
Asranti  Kar

Past Editors   
VS Manglik
HI Jhala
V Ramalingaswami
HD Tandon
BK Aikat
SJ Nagalotimath
KS Ratnakar
VH Talib
Harsh Mohan
SK Shahi
S. Satyanarayana

              A. Nagendra                           P. Vaideeswar                         Ashim Das                         DN Lanjewar

              Narendra Krishnani                 Amit Dinda                             Anshu                                 Usha Kini

              K. Joshi                                   Grace de Costa                       NA Jambhekar                   Tanuja Shet

              A. Borges                                A. Bhaduri                              N. Jayaram                         K.P. Arvindan

              S.K. Shankar                           Sujay Prasad                         Asranti Kar                        Geeta Vemuganti

              Kim Veiphei                             Amita Jain                               Neel Kamal Kapoor           A.K. Mondal

               Mukta Ramdwar                     Niranjan Rout                         Tejindar Singh                   K.B. Logani

  Radhika Srinivasan                    Vijaya V. Mysorkar                VSNijhawan                         Nuzhat Husain



              Antonio D’Antonio Italy                    Bhuvaneswari Krishnan, USA                        Anand S. Lagoo,USA

             Megha Joshi, USA                           Rajal Shah, USA                                             Sharda Sabnis, USA

             Niraja Kambham, USA                       Sobodh M Lele, USA                                     Z Gombos, USA

             SR Bhusnurmath, West Indies           Wayne Grayson, South Africa                    Yogesh Dayal, USA

             Gulfaraz Khan, UAE                          Ashraf Khan USA


             Vijayalakshmi Padmanabhan USA     Rajan Dewar USA                                  Meenakshi SinghUSA  

    Medknow Publications   Top

  The Journal 
  Site Statistics 
  My Preferences 
  Online Submission 
Submit articles
Email alerts
Join us
Most popular articles
Recommend this journal